Diary From Italy

DSC02916

Chapel inside the Vatican

DSC03134

Allie trying on some leather goods from J. F Leather in Florence 🙂

IMG_4147

Best thing ever ❤

IMG_4089DSC02508DSC03101DSC03106IMG_4645DSC03483DSC03631DSC03636DSC03641DSC03647

Definitely recommend gelato from Grom

Definitely recommend gelato from Grom

on top of the Duomo

on top of the Duomo

IMG_4722

Burano

Davide and I. Davide owns Davide Cerasi Leather Factory <3

Davide and I. Davide owns Davide Cerasi Leather Factory ❤

IMG_4648

Leeah, Kiyomi, and Ian. My new friends from our pizza make class. Best group ever ❤

IMG_4753DSC02582DSC02340DSC02354IMG_4299 IMG_4297

Nom Nom Nom

Nom Nom Nom

DSC02922DSC03356DSC04010

Piazza San Marco

Piazza San Marco

So, I took way too many photos in Italy. Between Rome, Florence, and Venice, there is just too much to see. The three (3) weeks spent in Italy were amazing. In Venice,  we took a boat tour to visit the islands of Murano, Burano, and Torcello. Overall, Burano, was the highlight of the three, simply because it was very different from the rest. From the beautifully colored houses, to me playing football (soccer) with the local kids, it was truly unbelievable. Venice was very nice. Doges palace was beautiful and I was brave enough to allow a pigeon to land on my hand.

The gorgeous, enchanting city of Florence. Florence is dream. From the Uffizi Gallery to Ponte Vecchio Bridge and Piazza Duomo, Allie and I spend a blissful 7 days wandering this amazing city. Though small, there is a lot that we got to do; from taking a pizza making class, to shopping and of course enjoying traditional Tuscan cuisine. After seeing the Duomo from all sides and visiting the inside of the cathedral, all we need to do to complete the experience is climb to the top… 463 steps that is. The climb was dreadful. I consider myself to be a very active person but damn, the narrow and grueling highway to hell took a toll on me. It was nice to see people who’ve made it to the top, encouraging you to move forward and that the treacherous satanic stairs is well worth the view.  I survived!!! Didn’t know what to expect but when I got to the top, absolute fear took over me. I am deathly afraid of heights and you couldn’t pay me to move a muscle once I got up there.  Allie, on the other hand, was brave and adventurous and was able to navigate her away around. Eventually she took my hand and walked with me around the top of the building so I could get a view of all of Florence, and what a view it was. At night we wander the city and found stunning views over the city at sunset.

Our go to Gelato place was Grom gelateria, conveniently looked near the Piazza Duomo. We did a lot of walking because Florence is so small. We wander into random shops and the best hands down is Davide Cerasi Leather Factory and John F. Leather. Romano from John F. was very helpful and kind to my sister and I. They had a lot of everything and were able to accommodate our needs. Davide is an amazing sales person. His store is definitely a must stop shop whenever you get the chance to visit Florence.

Roma, Roma, Roma *sigh* I definitely left my heart and maybe half my soul in this city. The beauty of this city cannot even be captured in a photograph. Upon arrival, I felt completely at home. We got to the hotel and took a much need nap. After that refresher, we set out to explore the eternal city.  We easily made our way to the Piazza di Spanga (Spanish steps) where it literally was flooded with people from all walks of life. To be honest, I really do not know what the big deal is with these steps. They are beautiful but I didn’t do my research and have no idea why many people flock to it. Next up, we ventured to the Fontana di Trevi (Trevi Fountain), and what a beauty it is. I was super excited to be able to throw a coin in the fountain and make a wish (sorry I cant tell you what I wished for, I can only hope it’ll come true). Day 2, we reserve a food walking tour and explored the neighbor of Testaccio and its famous market. One thing I took away from the tour is to be on the lookout for fake gelato. That’s right… there’s fake gelato in Italy people. Real gelato is not fluffy and overflowing like a mountain, they are filled about half way and are able to be covered with a lid to preserve freshness, and if the pistachio flavor is green in color, run for the hills, this is the fake stuff. For the rest of our trip I was on the hunt for the real deal. Figure if I’m going to get fat on vacation, I might as well get fat by eating the real stuff lol. I absolutely love the night scene in Rome. At night Allie and I went to Trastevere and Testaccio districts to party. I found the crowd to be livelier.

Representing the House of Batiatus (sorry I’m a huge fan of the Spartacus series on Starz) ladies and gentlemen, SPARTACUS. Okay, maybe not the gladiator himself but the lovely Colosseum. The amazing thing about the Colosseum is that it was all built by hand and I can’t begin to imagine the amount of time and how many men it took to build such a beautiful architecture. It made me wonder if we will ever be able to build architecture like that again.

The Vatican was great. I am obsessed with art and was ecstatic to see all of the rooms of the renaissance painters and the Sistine chapel. One thing I hated is that you wouldn’t take pictures inside the Sistine chapel.

Overall there is so much history and culture in Italy. The Italians definitely take pride in their country and I can totally see why. One thing I wish we could’ve done was visit the Amalfi coast.  One thing I learned is that people in Europe really know how to celebrate and enjoy life.

Have you been to Italy or is it on your wish list? Comment below and let me know

XO

Bren

This entry was posted in Vacation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Diary From Italy

Leave a Reply

